Say No To Fat Shaming 


I went to my doctor today for my annual check up. I honestly was dreading it as I was fearful what my bloodwork and other tests would show. I am overweight and have never fit into the BMI scale. For my height it says ideally I should weigh 135. I haven’t weighed 135 since I was 17. I have experienced fat shaming at work, with acquaintances and those closer to me and from complete strangers. For years I would not take a selfie or let people post photos of me. I am astonished when people feel the need to comment on my looks and weight. I have been gifted clothing to reduce my size. I listened to my coworker’s tell a fellow coworker how wonderful they looked after having stomach reduction surgery. They lost almost 85 pounds as a result. Skinny gets attention, love and it’s what sells magazines, movies and other things. I was handed diet food at work one night saying I may need it. I asked the employee why and they almost choked trying to give me a politically correct answer. I am not ashamed of my body, my body type or the fact that I have to shop for clothes in large and extra large size. 

The doctor ran an ekg on me, then came in asking many, many questions covering my lifestyle, exercise, diet, family history and then asked questions on every part of my body. It was very comprehensive and I asked questions too. I was shocked when the doctor said my bloodwork was normal as were other tests, my blood pressure and pulse was normal, my lungs were surprisingly clear given my asthma. The doctor said I am amazingly healthy in spite of being on the obese side of the BMI scale. I want to tell people who automatically assume that fat people are not healthy to shove it. I know I carry extra weight I don’t need to be told that. My doctor knows I carry extra weight but we are working on healthy ways to reduce my weight. I am proud of my look and my health. I may not be the size 8 or 10 that you see in movies, magazines or elsewhere but I love my body. I will not fear next years annual exam and I will for new ways to deal with those who feel compelled to comment on my weight. 

I will continue to write about it as needed and take more photos of myself as I start the journey to lose weight. I am starting horseback riding again next week after not riding for sixteen years. I asked Mike for a bike for my birthday and I got one😃. I am looking forward to taking more photos with a new to me camera. I have been making more time for myself and Mike and I have been embracing a new round of self care. I have been caring for others a lot the past four months as well as all the pets and sometimes forget to care for me. 

I chose this photo of me as I love it and think I look great!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kt1111
    Jun 20, 2017 @ 20:01:16

    Great pic Becca, you look so happy, that’s all that matters! Your peeps and pets are lucky to have you around! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Alli Farkas
    Jun 20, 2017 @ 22:04:00

    It used to be that the whole weight-loss “science” was based on calories in versus calories out. We have since learned that there may be a genetic predisposition to carrying extra weight, or even more interesting, that many people who have bariatric surgery also, before surgery, had uncontrollable food cravings and hunger that mysteriously disappeared after surgery. What kind of physical process could possibly be responsible for this phenomenon? The NY Times runs occasional articles on these questions–here are a couple of my faves:

    I have been one of those yo-yo dieters most of my life. My firm belief is that for a diet to succeed it must be one that is easy for the dieter to maintain for a lifetime. After 50-some years, I found one. Which is not to say it would work for everybody (that genetic thing again). But since it works for me–and I have maintained my desired weight for 4 years now–I can say that if you find the right diet for whatever your physical/genetic situation demands, you can be successful. Which is by no means meant to diminish everything you have just stated about fat-shaming. It should be up to each individual to decide whether the body they are living in is the right “size” for them.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Jun 23, 2017 @ 03:34:57

      What a beautiful response! I am looking to exercise more through horseback riding, bicycle riding, Tae Kwon do and walking. Thankfully Mike is incredibly supportive and we have been trying to eat healthier. As I look at photos of my grandparents and their families I know exactly where I get my body shape and size.

      Reply

  3. Alli Farkas
    Jun 20, 2017 @ 22:05:56

    PS: I LOVE Radiolab!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

