Life, Maine and Love

IMG_2841.JPG

IMG_2856.JPG

IMG_3358.JPG

IMG_3360.JPG

What’s the old saying “The road to hell is paved with good intentions.” So much for my posting once a week. Life got hectic with car repairs, work, vacation and family. Tonight is the first time in a while I’ve had some free time and am not asleep! NYC is asleep, my charge for the night Nellie the beagle is snoozing so I thought I’d check in.

Before vacation I was working like a mad woman to get my car in tip top shape, to have spending money for vacation and still have my bills paid. I’m proud of myself that all got done and I came home with money in my pocket. I’m on track to be debt free by 2015. I even managed to get some Christmas shopping done. After years of working for a shipping company I’ve learned to shop early.

Maine as always was beautiful. I arrived in a driving rain storm. My sister and I gathered in my Mom and step dad’s room and we watched a spectacular thunder storm complete with two rainbows. It was wonderful! We all drove to Barnacle Billy’s in Perkins Cove Ogunquit. The lobster stew, lobster roll and rum punch were divine. I went back again the next night to close out their season. It’s become a tradition for me. After dinner my sister and I wandered the cove and found my favorite Maine painter’s shop open. We stopped in and got to talking with the shop keeper. She invited us back the next morning to possibly meet the painter. The next day mom, my sister and I walked the Marginal Way. My favorite seaside walk! After the Marginal Way we picked up my step dad and walked into town. We ended up at Bread and Roses Bakery. My sister and I got hot apple cider with caramel. Oh my heavens it was amazing!!! Monday evening I drove to my oldest sister’s home half an hour from Ogunqut. It was nice to visit and my brother in law made a fantastic dinner. As always when I was leaving he tried to give me a cat.

The pictures I’ve included in this post are my favorite home and Dr. Seuss tree on the Marginal Way and a bench on the Marginal Way. I sat there as a young child and teenager with my dad watching the sea or chatting. Now I sit there with my Mom and sisters.

The bottom two pictures I took tonight at the farm. A beautiful sunset after a cold, windy and rainy morning. And Hester my favorite elderly ewe. She is a sweetheart. They have put five of the lambs who are too young to breed in the pasture with elderly sheep. Josephine has become a nanny, Grace and Hester have a quiet patience with the lambs but keep their distance.

All in all life is beautiful. Tomorrow I’m heading to Baltimore for a canning class. I’m excited to learn what my grandmothers and great grandmothers used to do on a regular basis. I’m hoping that NYC will be able to visit this month. I’ve never had a relationship like this but I’m loving it. He is the first one I think of when I wake up every morning and the last thought I have before sleeping at night. Even though a physical distance of three states is between us I’ve never felt closer to person than I do with him.

I hope you have a wonderful November weekend and you had a fabulous Halloween. As always I appreciate the time you visit and leave comments.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Diggle
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 13:16:20

    It’s wonderful that you have such strong connections to place and family, and that special someone. Wishing you abundance and happiness in all things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

