Listening & The Singing Universe

20130915-223150.jpg

20130915-223554.jpg

After a fast paced, stressful two weeks I find myself longing for peace and quiet at my own place. Work has been demanding with my night time job and pet sitting. Lately I have had a number of people who run house cleaning businesses also start offering pet sitting as they told me pet sitting is easy money. From where I stand it is not, based on the insurance I carry and the standard of care I give animals. I try to tailor my pet sitting to make sure I give the pets the time they need and the best care I can give them. I had a house cleaner call me and ask if they could give my number to someone. I said sure and thanks. I was shocked when she told me how much she charged as it is half of what I charge and she does not carry liability insurance for caring for pets. I do not care for pets in my home due to the insurance I carry and my home is for me. I love animals and would love to have a dog again sometime in the future but I don’t want to bring my work home with me. I love caring for animals and have met some great people and pets but it is a lot of responsibility to care for someone’s pet and their home. I love caring for older pets and their needs.

My landlord’s had to put their second dog to sleep on Friday three weeks after their last dog was put to sleep. It has been sad, stressful but also good to remember my buddies. They were great dogs with big hearts. The one bit of good news I did get was Sydney a cat I have written about before and photographed is doing much better than the vets expected. He was given six months to live six months ago and was just given another six months after his last check up. He is very sweet and I always worried when his owners called it would be to tell me had passed but he is doing well.

At my night time job an older couple came in this week to ship their deceased dog to a university that is doing a breed study on some of the genetic reasons these dogs are dying at the time they are. My co worker panicked by their statement when they came in but I have handled the shipment of three other dogs and was familiar with the procedures and requirements. As the husband was filling out the paperwork I started talking with the wife who was visibly upset. She proceeded to share some lovely memories of their dog and after ten minutes was doing a bit better. I believe they will get another dog. They thanked me very much for helping them, listening and understanding. I don’t think we like to handle the alleged negative or messy emotions in general-at work and with family, people tend to share the most remarkable things with me-from the depths of grief and despair, fear and anger to happiness. Many people seem afraid to show their messy emotions. I think maybe people would get along a little better if people shared more. I have to confess after writing that last statement I have been putting people in my life who don’t have time for me on a back burner. Now I know people get busy, I’m talking about people in our lives who only speak of themselves, think of themselves and think nothing of sharing their life with you without even asking how are you. I guess I just don’t understand how people lack empathy or just stop talking long enough to ask how you are.

I did take a couple of hours and go to an art/historical show at the local art academy with my mom. It was great fun and very interesting. The two pictures are of my home. Mighty Misha who left the world on Friday can be seen in the bottom right of the top picture. I am looking forward to a little quiet time Tuesday and Wednesday. Tuesday is supposed to be another rocket launch from Wallops Island though this will be a day time launch which is tougher for me to see. Oh I almost forgot! Voyager 1 entered interstellar space recently. I was so excited. If you get a chance look it up on YouTube the sounds of Voyager in interstellar space. It is a hauntingly beautiful, eerie and spine tingling sound. I love that the universe sings even when we think it is dark. Maybe I need to remember that as I head into this week.

Thanks for reading to the end and I apologize for being a bit bleak in the beginning.

20130915-231920.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alli Farkas
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 18:29:01

    It always amazes me how many people operate a business with no insurance and offer cut-rate prices. I have way too much to lose if my business causes someone harm, so I’m insured. You would think that customers would appreciate business owners who care enough about their business to carry insurance. A list of services provided and an explanation of the extraordinary care offered should reassure clients that the money spent is well worth it. I would much rather hire a self-employed person than a large company which just sends out an employee with no vested interest in the reputation or welfare of the company.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Sep 19, 2013 @ 05:31:13

      Thanks! I feel a lot better after receiving your comments and others people have sent. The other side of frustration is coming in after a customer had a bad experience with someone they hired who was uninsured not bonded with little animal or house sitting experience. When I first started out my first few interviews with people started with the statement the last pet sitter lost our pet, caused the death of our pet or was never here. I really love what I do. I would love to get back with horses more too. Thanks for your support! I really appreciate it.

      Reply

  2. Penni
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 21:41:15

    So Sorry about Misha……
    Hope you get your peaceful time, sounds like you do need it.
    Don’t apologize for how you are feeling!
    Thanks for feeling that you can share and be honest!

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Sep 19, 2013 @ 05:33:19

      Thanks for your kind words about Misha. He was a sweetie but I have been told he was a terror when he was younger. He was my buddy.
      I hope you are faring well and are not affected by the floods and rain.

      Reply

  3. maria wulf
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 22:24:14

    I think it’s a good thing to disengage from people who don’t show any care or concern for you. Make space for the people in your life you want to be with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

