Three Planets & Memorial Day

20130527-004207.jpg

20130527-004325.jpg

20130527-004409.jpg

I had been eagerly anticipating the latest sky delights this week with three planets being fairly close together just after sunset. Mercury, Venus and Jupiter are all visible for the next few days. Last night I was disappointed to find the trees in my neighborhood obscured my attempts to view the sight. I was trying to figure out how I could find a spot of the western sky that was clear of any tree line, lights or other obstacles when I remembered Black Walnut Point on Tilghman Island. It is about twenty to twenty five minutes from my home. I had mentioned viewing the planets to my friend Jenn and how I was going to venture to Tilghman to try and see them. She said she would love to see it too so at about half an hour before sundown we were driving west towards Tilghman. It is a pretty drive, through farm country and then you turn to run parallel to the Chesapeake Bay. The sun going down was throwing some beautiful oranges, yellows and various hues in the sky. There is a really neat drawbridge that you cross to head onto Tilghman. On our left was the Choptank River getting ready to pour into the Chesapeake, on our right was the Chesapeake. We drove down to a stretch of land called Black Walnut Point. There are some homes on the point, a lovely inn, a Coast Guard Station and a three quarter mike piece of land where the public can park, bird watch, watch ships travel up and down the bay, fish or just contemplate life. We parked and watched the last bits of the sunlight dip below the horizon. Jenn took the bottom picture looking north up the bay. To our left and right people were fishing off the rocks and out of the backs of their cars. Venus graced us with her presence first-the first bright light to appear in the sky. Next to the upper left of Venus but a bit dimmer was Jupiter and finally overtop of Venus to complete a triangle came Mercury. It was my first time ever seeing Mercury. I was happy to check that off my life list. We also saw a satellite pass overhead as well as a meteor burn up as it entered the atmosphere.

After dropping Jenn off at her car I headed to the tiny town of Preston to care for two cats and a dog. As I drove the moon started to come up over the horizon and tree line. I watched a show on astrophysics recently that said the moon used to be three times closer to us than it is now. Can you imagine what that moon looked like in the sky? They talk about the supermoons now when full moons come around imagine a moon three times as big as it is now in the sky? It was a beautiful moon the last two nights. While I am imagining what the moon looked like long ago I also wonder what the sun would look like when it goes supernova. The middle picture is just prior to sunrise at a petsitting job on the Tred Avon River.

I took the top picture in the park of my town. It is one of the many Memorial Day Tributes around my little town this weekend. In the big town of DC Rolling Thunder took place today. It is always impressive. As is the military placing flags at all the graves in Arlington National Cemetery. Thanks to all the military past and present!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Tate
    May 27, 2013 @ 14:26:20

    Becca, I can always count on your posts to transport me to spots you’ve been to and things you’ve seen. I, too, have been able to see Jupiter, Venus and Mercury outside my front door, although at some point, as they move, trees will obscure the view. I am content, however, to have gotten a decent view at all. And if I saw this recent beautiful moon three times larger, I think I would faint from the awesomeness (is that a word?) of it all.

    Thanks for your posts. They are calming, relevant, poignant….all those things and more at different times.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      May 27, 2013 @ 16:47:48

      Thank you for your kind words! It really made my day. I am happy to be able to make a connection even though we may be many miles apart. Sometimes I think the sky connects us all though we do not always realize it. Thanks for stopping by and I always love to hear from you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

