Snap Judgements & A Sleeping Abby

20130407-011227.jpg

20130407-011324.jpg

20130407-011358.jpg

On Friday afternoon I went to the Academy of the Arts in my town to see a show I saw advertised in the paper. I was happy when I drove up to find a parking spot within easy walking distance. I glanced at the colorful flag on the lawn announcing the art show, marched inside and was met by a surprised volunteer. The entire downstairs was being painted in preparation for the show I wanted to see. I showed up fifteen days too early. They sure advertised it well! I just failed to pay attention to the actual dates. All the painters looked at me like I was an idiot. I had a delightful conversation with volunteer and tried to talk my way into being able to see pieces of the permanent collection. I was not successful in that one but she did tell me their was a small exhibit upstairs and I was more than welcome to view that at no charge. I almost declined but figured since I was here I might as well. I climbed the stairs and was met by two colorful paintings of flowers and shells. I knew enough about flowers to know that the one artist was trying to tell a story with just the flowers he was using and I did not have to read the little sign next to the painting to figure that one out. I have always been fascinated with hidden meanings and signs in things. I learned long ago that people communicated with flowers from color selection to the flowers themselves. The other artist did self portraits in ornaments placed next to flowers and shells. I realized as I walked through the exhibit I actually recognized the artists as local men I had seen around town. And talk about me judging a book by it’s cover. Every time over the years I had run into these men, who are brothers, they reminded of Boo Radley in To Kill A Mockingbird. I had no idea they had fine arts degrees, painted beautiful pictures and traveled all over. Amazing the snap judgements we make. I wonder what people think of me when they see me wandering about town. Do they think me the female version of Boo Radley?

I had a wonderful time by myself checking out the small exhibit. Heard the laughter of children being taught an art class down one of the halls. I wanted to join them to see what all the fun was about. So many times I go to art galleries, shows, museums and everyone is quiet, hushed, and stuck up. My Mom and I had the best time at Van Gogh’s exhibit in Philadelphia last year. We chatted, laughed, discussed and had a great time. I could imagine myself in some of the paintings. The art academy I visited used to be the school at the turn of the century (1900’s). The top two pictures are of the academy. It is a really neat building. I stood at the windows for quite a long time just looking out.

The bottom picture is of Abby sleeping. She is heading home today or tomorrow. She has been very clingy the past two weeks. But I imagine she will be happy to be in her big home again with a lovely screened porch. I wonder though will she miss watching Doctor Who with me, listening to NPR on the weekends, or crazy eclectic music throughout the week? I know she will miss sleeping on the bed as she is not allowed in the bedroom at her usual home. I will miss her chatting with me every night but December will be here again before I know it.

Have you ever had a snap judgements you made turned upside down? Is your mind open enough to have it changed? It took me a day to wrap my head around the paintings these brothers did as I had only known them in another setting. Always trying to challenge myself and my mind. I hope you do too! Enjoy your Sunday!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maria wulf
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 21:19:23

    I love being surprised by people when I make those snap judgements. Reminds me not to do it and make me have faith in the human race.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 02:36:51

      I try not to do it too but I don’t think we can help it being humans. But like you I do love being surprised by people. I surprised some coworkers a few weeks ago sharing some things I have pursued in my free time. They had no idea since I am so quiet and private. Very few even know I have a blog 🙂

      Reply

  2. maria wulf
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 21:20:01

    Oh and nice photo of Abby:)

    Reply

  3. oohshinyart
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 13:53:58

    I like being surprised as well. I wish we had a local gallery. The best I can do is go to the local frame shop as they carry a lot of local work. It’s also the only place in town to get “real” art supplies. 🙂

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 01:12:30

      That’s pretty cool the frame shop carries local art. The town I live in is overflowing with art galleries. Restaurants, inns, hotels and motels also show art work and we have two art festivals a year in my town. The surrounding towns are pretty artsy too. It’s an eclectic mix of art, watermen, farmers and commuters to DC and Baltimore that live around here. Where I grew up had no art galleries that I know of but this town sure does.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

