Blooming Cactus, Doctor Who & Peace

20130329-224336.jpg

20130329-224523.jpg

20130329-233442.jpg

This past Christmas my Mom gave me a cutting/transplant of a Christmas cactus she has had for a number of years. Mine turned out to bloom this Easter. It has nine blooms on it now with another four to bloom a little later. I have it sitting in my bathroom on a table my grandfather (my Mom’s Dad) made. He was a gardener and passed on the love of the flowers to my Mom who in turn passed it on to me and my sisters. Though I do believe I am the only one who does container gardening as I hate weeding after having to weed the gardens as a child. I vowed never again when I grew up. On the table along with cactus is a poinsettia that suddenly started to bloom again this January after not doing anything last year but grow. It has lovely white leaves sprouting with a hint of red running down the center of the leaves. I cannot bear to throw them out every year but I am not dedicated enough to give them however many hours of darkness that they need to bloom every year. My philosophy with plants is I will care for them, water them and give them access to sun but other than that they are on their on. Oh and I really hope they like eclectic music tastes-from Johnny Cash to Chris Botti, Of Monsters & Men to Irish Music, Peter Gabriel and everything in between-classical, jazz with some news. Anyhow I was excited to have cactus blooms. It reminded of visiting my Mom and step dad at their Arizona winter home in March a few years back. In my ignorance I expected flying into Phoenix I would only see variations of sand however what I saw was mountains and the land exploding with color as I was there when the cactus were in bloom. It was magnificent and I sight I will not forget.

The second picture is Abby sitting next to me but not on my lap. She has been needing a lot of attention lately. During her stay I have been sharing my love of Doctor Who with her and we have been enjoying the new C-Span series on the First Ladies. Last night we were a bunch of shows on Johnny Cash. One show was Song by Song which explores the background and influences of certain songs he sang. Then we watched a special when he performed in Folsom Prison. I loved it and Abby stayed the whole time watching it with me.

The last picture is of a few shelves of my horse book and horse collection. A friend is seriously looking into purchasing a horse. It has been fun to be there as a sounding board for her and we are headed to a horse expo next weekend for one of the days. I think Sunday. Horses-once in your blood never leave.

I have found a peace over the last few days I just can’t explain but it is a nice feeling. I still have bills to pay, every day struggles but right now I’m at peace.

I hope you enjoy your weekend. Happy post full moon. Happy Easter if you celebrate it. And just happiness and peace to all. For everyone still in winters grip or with snow on the ground in the northern hemisphere I hope spring comes soon!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 14:01:12

    Your blog and photography are a delight. I could get lost in the photos of your bookshelves, they are so artfully arranged. Best wishes.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Mar 30, 2013 @ 23:44:41

      Thanks you! I am happy you enjoy my blog and photos. I could never just put books on bookshelves and leave them alone. I was always adding things to the shelves even as a kid. Have a beautiful weekend.

      Reply

  2. Grampy
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 14:21:22

    Happy Peacster to you too

    Reply

  3. 2 Punk Dogs
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 00:54:13

    The cactus is beautiful! I’m the same way about plants, mine are outside only as the cats tend to eat or dump them over in the house. Completely agree that horses are always in the blood, though I haven’t owned one in 17 years. 🙂

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Apr 01, 2013 @ 04:26:12

      Thanks for stopping by! I really appreciate it. So far my Mom’s & step Dad’s cat has only tried to eat one plant though she did knock another off of a table. Cats are funny about the plants aren’t they?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quĂŞte de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

