A Geek, A Sun Catcher & A Bird Feeder

20121202-004140.jpg

20121202-004218.jpg

20121202-004357.jpg

I got my geek nerd on tonight. I watched Doctor Who all night, caught up on my astronomy magazines and taught myself a few new stars while outside checking out the moon and Jupiter. There are meteor showers coming up December 13-14. One of the brightest comets ever arrives early 2013 and hangs about for a few months. Mercury is out in the evenings in February. That is a planet I have never had a chance to see in the sky. I’m excited to see it.

When I woke up this morning it was very foggy. Thankfully I had the luxury of waiting for it to burn off before I needed to start my pet sitting jobs. It took a while to lift. I took a picture of one my sun catchers when the sun came out. The way the light came through caught my eye today. Maybe it was the late autumn sun that hit it differently. I know the sunsets have been wonderful lately. I took the middle picture tonight. Pulled over on our fairly busy front road in the housing development to take it. Everyone who passed thankfully smiled and waved. I did stop at an awkward spot but if I waited I would have missed the shot. The sun waits for no one.

And one of my bird feeders that I stuffed into one of the pine trees. Where I live I don’t have any squirrels around. I think maybe it is because of all the open meadows and maybe the river nearby. Anyhow I do not have to worry about them raiding my feeders. In the past few days I have seen juncos, all sorts of sparrows, chickadees, cardinals, bluejays, mockingbirds, grosbeaks and the occasional bluebird visit. Now if only I can learn everyones calls and I would love to see cedar waxwings. Everyone I know sees them all the time. I have only seen them once in my life besides in a magazine or field guide. It’s rather similar to my experiences going to Assateague Island where they have a herd of wild ponies. I have seen the ponies maybe three times in fifteen visits, my friends have the ponies walk right up to their cars or camp sites every visit.

I hope your weekend is going well. If you get a chance check out the moon and Jupiter. It is worth putting a jacket on and going out to take a look.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. penni
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 06:24:07

    Becca, Go online and learn to recognize the sound cedar waxwings make, it’s pretty distinctive, and I’ll bet that before you know it you will see them much more often. Also always look closely at large flocks of robins. Often there are cedar waxwings with them too! We see them frequently here, sometimes in huge flocks! They are one of my favorite birds, and I am always so happy when they come to my yard! I really miss seeing cardinals! We have a few here in Colorado, but I haven’t seen one here yet. On trips back east, once we hit Kansas, I’m always on the lookout for cardinals! Cloudy skies out tonite, the moon looks hazy, and very cool.
    Enjoy your weekend too!

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Dec 05, 2012 @ 15:02:07

      I’ll have to check out the waxwings calls online. I always forget that resource. Kind of funny since the blog is online! I had not realized cardinals were not easy to find in Colorado. I do like their dash of red in the winter months though lately it has been 70 here. Rather odd. Hope you are well!

      Reply

  2. Suzanne Tate
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 18:53:35

    Have been looking at the Moon and Jupiter every night recently. Does my heart good seeing them hanging up in the sky like a huge opal and a wee diamond.

    Loved your mention of Assateague. Many years ago, I backpack-camped there and the wild ponies came into our camp in the early morning. There was a baby pony with the adults and at one point they circled it and the dad curved his neck back to touch the baby’s face so it wouldn’t be afraid. Had my camera at the right time, right place and got the shot. Entered it in a contest and never got it back.

    Thanks for bringing this memory of those glorious ponies back to me.

    Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

