Maine

20121014-235447.jpg

20121014-235549.jpg

20121014-235640.jpg

Despite spraining my right ankle Thursday evening I drove to Connecticut on Friday to stay with a cousin before arriving in Maine on Saturday. I have been coming to Ogunquit on Maine’s southern coast since I was ten years old. I love the motel I stay at and they welcome me like family. Most of the people who stay here return every year around the same time so faces are familiar. Some may find it odd but I rather enjoy it. The motel has been here over one hundred years. It is right on the ocean. I am sitting on my porch listening to the ocean while I write this. I meet my family here and it is the one time of the year we all get together-my Mom and step dad, my two older sisters and their husbands and myself.

The top two pictures are of the cove which is at the end of the mile walking path that starts in front of the motel. The walking path is oceanfront and is a real treat to walk. I usually walk it about eight to ten times while I am here but due to my ankle I was only able to hobble down to the first set of benches they have along the path. It was about a hundred yard walk. The cove at the end of the path has little shops, restaurants, art galleries and of course a fleet of lobster boats and deep sea fishing boats.

Today while my family walked up into town I stayed behind to rest my foot. I sat on my porch and watched the ocean and people walk by. I had three crows who kept me company too. I’m sure that has a meaning but I don’t know what it is. I took a picture of one of the crows. They were pretty amusing.

I was also able to watch Fearless Felix jump from 128,000 feet to the ground. I am terrified of heights but I forced myself to watch and not look away. They had cameras attached to his ballon that carried him up and you could see the curvature of the earth he was up so high. Then when he stepped out onto his platform my stomach knotted up just looking down at the earth and I was sitting quite comfortably in a chair with my feet up in my motel room. Then when he just stepped off and in a blink of an eye he was out of camera sight he was falling so fast made me quite uncomfortable. It was nice to see him be successful. I admire people who can conquer heights as my fear always gets me. It is really one of my few fears.

I do love Maine as it has always allowed me to recharge my batteries and the coast mesmerizes me. It is so different from the Maryland and Delaware coastline. I hope you have place be it near or far, in your mind or a place you can drive to that allows you to relax, regroup and recharge. Sometimes you just need that little break and it makes all the difference.

(I hope it is sunny and I can get some sunny pictures of the coast before I leave.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane McMillen
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 14:33:22

    Thank you for sharing your get-away. We didn’t get ours this year. We love to go to Portsmouth area in NH/Me, and like you I find the northeast coast wonderful and free. Water and ships and seafood–I relate to it all and even the hobbling as I have a bad ankle that acts up when I most want to use it! Take care and have a wonderful time!

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 00:46:51

      Thanks Jane. I’ve loved eating the seafood and surprisingly found I like sitting by the ocean and in addition to watching the waves and birds I was mesmerized by the airplanes coming in from overseas. They were still at cruising altitude but it was fascinating to me to watch. I hope you are well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

