A Talking Tree & A Pirate

20120714-011408.jpg

20120714-011451.jpg

I am happy to be home again!! So happy I took a picture of where I usually write and unwind at night. I sit on the couch, look at the Stubbs horse print, sometimes listen to music, sometimes watch tv and other times write in silence or just sit in silence. I love being home again. Being with my books, my animal prints, meditation area and views I have come to love. I looked out my bedroom window and caught sight of a tree I often talk to. It is the only tree whose bark I can currently see among all the foliage. I tell the tree a lot of things and sometimes I swear the tree speaks back. Not that it answers me but it tells it’s own story. It is older than I am, wiser than me and perhaps I have lived alone too long but I enjoyed looking out my window and seeing it again today and listening to what it had to say.

I had two encounters in the past two days that made me smile as I witnessed them. The first occurred as I was coming out of the post office heading to my car. I passed two mothers and their children. One little boy was happily pulling a toy I had not seen in years. It was the dog pull toy where the dog has leather ears that flap on the ground as you pull the toy along. I never cared for it as a child but now I get it. This boy was totally into his toy and walking proudly down the street. I was entranced with the dogs ears flapping on the ground. Both families were happy.

The second instance I was sitting at a stop light watching two small children pet a pit bull that a man was walking through town. The dog was happy, the kids were delighted and then everyone went on their way. It was then I caught sight of the little boy’s pirate sword and shield-decorated quite fiercely. He marched down the street with his mother and sister waving his shield. I wanted to get out and follow him he was having so much fun. Sometimes I think we forget to have fun as adults and have every minute of every day filled up to the top with things to do. I have taken the weekend off from all work myself, starting with Friday. I thought I needed a break and to have a bit of fun.

I think I may go out and take more photos, bird watch, star watch if the skies clear and maybe see what other fun I can get into.

I hope you find time to have a little bit of fun in your weekend! I would love to hear what fun you like to have if you would like to share. Happy Saturday.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penni
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 04:19:48

    Hoping to head up to my favorite mountain town for a picnic!

    Reply

  2. maria wulf
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 01:05:51

    I love you joy you find in everyday life Becca. Fun this weekend, I slept late on Saturday and read, nothing much else and it was, well, not fun exactly, but just what I needed.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 01:54:13

      Thank you. I sometimes hear so much negativity every day that I try to make it a point to seek out what makes me smile. Your weekend sounds relaxing-sometimes it is what we need to sleep in, read and hang out. Thanks for sharing. I appreciate it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

