Meadows, the Moon & Dark Clouds

20120603-235606.jpg

20120603-235650.jpg

Surrounding the home I live in are meadows that are not mowed until late fall. So grasses grow tall, flowers bloom and animals, insects and invertebrates take full advantage of it. The orange flowers above caught my eye as I drove out yesterday so I stopped and took some pictures today. I was hoping not to run into the resident snapping turtle nor any snakes. I have an unhealthy fear of snakes. I am getting better and can view them without much fear from about twenty yards but closer and they give me the creeps. I don’t really mind the relatively harmless large black rat snakes we have but it’s the really fast racers that make my skin crawl. Anyhow I digress, the orange flowers grabbed my eye and I was treated to a killdeer family who was out and about for a brief fly from their nest in the driveway gravel of an empty lot. At night coming home from work I often see a herd of deer curled up in the grass in the back meadow. Sometimes they stay as I drive by but more often than not they flee. I have been getting a kick out of the mockingbirds nesting as well as the bluebirds, barn swallows and purple martins. I don’t know where the three families if osprey or one eagle family nest but I enjoy watching them hunt on the river and ponds out back.

The moon was beautiful rising last night and tonight. I tried to get a decent shot of it with the bottom picture but it doesn’t do it justice. It is quite lovely. I never tire of looking at it.,

We had some fairly intense weather blow through Maryland Friday afternoon and evening. As of now they have confirmed nine tornados that touched down on the Western Shore. Sometimes the Chesapeake Bay churns up storms and makes them stronger but this time it seemed to help push the storms a bit north and dissipate them prior to them crossing the Bay. Other times in the past the Bay can be just enough of a kick to get a storm going. We are in the warm month weather ritual of warm sunny hot humid days though lately it hasn’t been too humid and then storms at night. One always hope the storms don’t turn violent. I have spent some time in bathrooms huddled with pets waiting for storms to pass or tornado warnings to expire. Unfortunately where I live our water table is too high for people to have basements or underground shelters. A home with a basement is a rarity. Tonight I was out walking the dogs admiring the moon and was not really paying attention to the approaching clouds and was surprised to see lighting come from them. The dogs and I went back inside quick. I do not fear weather but I have a healthy respect for it.

Now that the clouds have passed by I am heading back out to check out the Moon, Saturn and Mars and to try to learn a few more stars and constellations. I hope the weather is pleasant where you are, you stop and enjoy what life has to offer and never stop learning. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

