A Voyage Around the Sun

20120601-013204.jpg

20120601-013426.jpg

20120601-013925.jpg

On Saturday I celebrate my birthday. I am looking forward to it. I enjoy reflecting on what I have achieved in the past year. From the smallest accomplishment to the biggest success as well the stuff that did not turn out in quite the way I expected.

I am definitely in a much better place spiritually and mentally than I was a few years back. It was truly a terrifying time and to know I came through it and survived is an amazing thing. I feel blessed. Once I turned that corner and was on my way again was when I decided I could not live in fear anymore. My life has not turned out in quite the way I expected it to and it is certainly not the conventional one people expect but I have grown to embrace it, learn from it and love it.

I am thankful for so many people in my life but one in particular is my cousin Kathy who is one of my biggest cheerleaders and who has always been there for me. She has seen me in my darkest days and in the brightest ones too.

I am grateful to Maria for her encouragement to get the blog started.

I am thankful to Jon for mentioning my blog on his site and saying such kind words about my blog. So many people followed the blog on his suggestion.

I am grateful to my parents for always encouraging me to write and supporting my love of reading. My sisters have humored me too on the reading front. They always know I will usually ask for a book for the holidays.

I am thankful for all the animals I care for and the wild ones I encounter.

And I am grateful for everyone who reads my blog. Many thanks!

I look forward to my next voyage around the sun. To do more writing, to meet new people, overcoming a fear every day, challenging myself, living in the moment, being happy and bringing happiness to the world.

Happy Friday everyone. Have a great weekend! I’m looking forward to enjoying Maryland steamed crabs and some ice tea!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 09:44:23

    Many happy returns on your special day, Becca. Hope the year ahead is a great one for you!

    Cheryl
    Pearl River, LA

    Reply

  2. Suzanne Tate
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 12:50:20

    Have a most happy, fun and blessed birthday, Becca! In my book, those who overcome their fears are the true heroes, because it’s so hard to do. Bask in your accomplishment. It’s a big deal!

    Reply

  3. Morris Brook Farm
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 12:57:55

    Happy Birthday Becca!

    I love the idea of your “voyage around the sun”. I too have a birthday in June and you are right, it’s a good time to reflect and look ahead.

    Reply

  4. Maria Wulf
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:26:36

    Happy Birthday Becca, Enjoy the steamed crab, I’ve heard they are wonderful!

    Reply

  5. Penni
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 21:37:48

    Happy Birthday Becca! Enjoy your day!

    Reply

  6. Jill
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 01:25:11

    I wish you a blessed and happy birthday that continues throughout the year. I’m glad Jon sent me to your blog. I always food for thought.

    Reply

  7. Kath
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 01:30:01

    Great blog today Beck…..thanks for the shutout! I love you and you inspire me everyday with your blog…keep it coming!!!!

    Reply

  8. Mary Rita Scott
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 03:39:13

    Happy Birthday, enjoy your day and your year! Mary Rita Scott

    Reply

  9. oohshinyart
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 16:08:14

    A very happy birthday to you! May all your wishes come true.

    Reply

  10. feelingchipper
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 06:42:02

    Happy birthday Becca. Hope you have a wonderful day and all the best for the exciting year to come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

