Cormorant Control

20120428-214338.jpg

20120428-214442.jpg

Today I drove to BWI airport to pick up some friends returning from vacation. To get to the airport from where I live requires a trip across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge. It is a four and a half mile bridge high over the bay. It starts with a long climb to the top before a downward right hand turn back to land. Most days crossing the bridge does not bother me but due to weather I have had some terrifying crossings which force me to pull over to the side of the road once off of the bridge to listen to my heart pound and to put my stomach and heart back where they belong. Thankfully today was not one of those days. It was cloudy but one could see clear to Baltimore and then down the bay to view the ships anchored waiting for the harbor pilots to take them into port. Traveling across the westbound span affords one a fairly clear view of the bay as the bridge has four steel bars that run the length of the bridge that separate you from the bay. The eastbound span is made up of jersey barriers except where the suspension span is. Anyhow today I was hanging back a little bit from traffic when a flock of birds flying in a V formation caught my eye. At first I thought they were pelicans. I became a bit mesmerized by the birds and only half heartedly paid attention to the road. I paid attention enough to know that the birds were altering the flight path to avoid the traffic ahead of me and the tractor trailers. I thought they were going under the bridge. To my horror I realized that we were going to hit the same area of the bridge at the same time. There were fifty birds that I now realized were cormorants. Not as large as pelicans but not too small either. I looked behind me and found I could slow down and possibly avoid the birds without causing an accident as traffic was three quarters of a mile behind me and traffic ahead of me was about half a mile ahead. Just as I decided a collision was unavoidable the leading birds took matters into their wings. All the sudden one went up and they parted like red sea and went over me. It was an amazing experience and I know they were doing it for survival but I felt blessed. I had in one thought been praying they would go over me and not be killed and at the same time was prepared for the horrible impact of hitting one or more but knowing I could not swerve being one hundred and eighty six feet above water. I am always grateful for nature and it’s wisdom and divine intervention. So often I have found if I just step back and allow life to happen and experience as it happens rather than always trying to change it I am much more relaxed and happier and can handle whatever comes my way much better be it good or bad. Lately I have found myself starting to get caught up in trying to anticipate outcomes rather than let them happen. The cormorants today reminded me I am not in control.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grampy
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 09:04:23

    Enjoy the cormorants, wish I did not have to look the name up every time I spell it though. Water turkeys are a nick name for them here. That I can spell. It is awesome to be graced by interaction with things natural. The crawling, biting variety ticks and such not so much. Still I have to appreciate as you say we are not in control.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 04:21:08

      I had to have my bird book out to check on the spelling of cormorants. I have never heard of the term water turkeys. That is pretty funny. I do not usually see cormorants unless I am crossing the bay or on or near a river. They love hanging about the Bay Bridge or dock pilings. I agree with you and am not fond of the crawling, biting variety of ticks and the such. I am working on my fear of snakes. I do enjoy the birds. I really love the bald eagles which are plentiful are the Bay. I have been getting a kick out of the bluebirds and purple martins nesting on the property. I am learning every day we are not in control of much. Thank you for you insights and comments. I do enjoy and appreciate them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Life With Horace

poetry & essays

Rising Over the Smoke

Cleanse ye your eyes, so that ye behold no man 
as different from yourselves.... 
See ye no strangers; rather see all men as friends, 
 
for love and unity come hard 
 when ye fix your gaze on otherness. ~Baha'i

Not Ready for AARP

Experiences of a woman and mom over 50

Penguin for Peace

choosing a peaceful heart

Quarry House

Poetry. Photography. Thoughts

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

From My Window

The world as I view it

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

jenwritesthings

Because sometimes stories need a place to live.

HowellingattheMoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm

a place to come to be reminded of who you really are: Divine, magnificent, Love

