Horses, Ponies & Lambs, Oh My!

20140521-235525-86125719.jpg

20140521-235523-86123916.jpg

20140521-235524-86124739.jpg

20140521-235522-86122920.jpg

20140521-235526-86126530.jpg

20140521-235521-86121985.jpg

Lately my weekends have been filled with horses, ponies, sheep and lambs.
The second picture shows a lamb that was born two weekends ago. The little lamb was spunky and a fighter. She endeared herself to me in the way she fought me when I picked her up to move her and her mom to the lambing stall. I watched her this past weekend interact with the older lambs who are twice her size. She took no guff from the bigger lambs and held her own in the field. I think she reminded me of me. I get a kick out of the different personalities of the sheep and lambs. The two lamb profiles are of two of the bottle baby lambs I have cared for over the past month. They are almost weaned off of the supplemental milk now. The lamb without the freckles comes running after me in the barn and in the field when I do my twice daily walks through pasture to check on everyone.

I learned a lot this lambing season, what to look for as the ewes were getting ready to lamb, how to move a ewe and newborn lamb with minimal stress, how to care for ewe and lamb when the lamb is born, how to bottle feed and in general the overall care of lambs and sheep. In college I furthered my education with horses , did a little bit with chickens and had five weeks of caring for pigs. I never got to care for goats and sheep but in my pet sitting jobs I am gaining more experience.

That is Gator in the top photo. He’s my buddy where I teach. He graciously stayed away from the fence line while I was teaching. When I finished and my student was walking her horse on the cool down I approached the fence and here comes Gator. I just love that little pony. The pony with his head to his chest is Tiger. I was astounded he could reach an itch on his chest between his front legs. A friend of mine dubbed this horse yoga.

The final picture is my student with her horse Kinzer. It was great to teach on Sunday. It was our first lesson of the year due to both of our schedules not working out and the weather. I have been teaching for twenty years and mostly beginners to intermediate riders. This past Sunday for some reason as I pulled up to the farm the thought crossed my mind “What the hell am I doing here teaching?” I felt as if I had no right and found my confidence in the toilet. I started teaching and got into what I was doing and both student and horse were happy and relaxed. We worked through a sticky point with her horse who every so often gets stiff in her neck during an upward transition. My student rode through it and by the end of the lesson Kinzer did not even think about acting up.

I really need to find a horse to ride and an instructor for me. I miss it so much but health issues in my thirties prevented me from riding. I remembered scribing for a judge at Fair Hill International Three Day Event, as it was a break in between rides she told me how she could no longer ride but judges and teaches. I never forgot that. Most people only think of riding horses but there is so much more.

I hope you have a great Thursday and as always thanks for stopping by.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Como
    May 22, 2014 @ 11:24:55

    I enjoyed reading your blog, as always. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Alli Farkas
    May 22, 2014 @ 16:31:27

    Glad you have the opportunity to teach. And who knows, you may ride again. Just be open to it when the opportunity presents itself. On another note, it looks like those horses have been “horsing around” a bit this spring!

    Reply

  3. judith
    May 22, 2014 @ 21:27:34

    Hi Becca, I hope you can find a way to fulfill your passion for horses and riding. I found your blog thru Maria Wulf’s….I have enjoyed reading your posts as a kindred soul. Best to you,
    Judy

    Reply

  4. Catherine
    May 22, 2014 @ 23:07:07

    So much fun to read about your work. The photos are so beautiful!
    Thanks for taking us along on your journey…… :-)

    Reply

  5. Penni
    May 22, 2014 @ 23:56:40

    Find that horse and live your dream of riding again! Loved the pictures!

    Reply

  6. Susan Diggle
    May 23, 2014 @ 15:06:22

    I appreciate you sharing your longstanding connection to animals, Becca. Where did you go to college? The only one I know of where you one can learn about animal husbandry was Essex Aggie, in Massachusetts.

    Reply

    • becca's event horizon
      May 24, 2014 @ 02:22:35

      I went to University of Massachusetts in Amherst when they still had a four year animal science degree specializing with horses. I think they have made it into a two year associates program now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Quarry House

Creativity, Communication and Clarity

Straight from the Horse's Heart

A Spiritual Ride through Love, Loss and Hope

Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

World-wide virtual custom coaching, consulting, training, Donkeys, Horses, Mules and life on the farm

MaxReynolds: Sunrise, Sunset and other Visions

Celebrate the sunrise, Toast the sunset and Enjoy everything in between!

The View from Here

Finding My Voice

Views From The Horizon

It's All About Perspective

From My Window

The world as I view it

thecheesewolf

"This is just the kind of sense that's... not."

If You Don't Mind Me Asking...

Wife, Mom, Daughter, Nurse, Animal Lover.

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms

Everyday Power

Motivational Quotes | Inspirational Sayings | Personal Development

Cloud Lounge

Shooting for the Sky

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Jumbled Writer - Charlie Dims

A place for art, discussion, and everything else interesting

Dressage Different

Bonnie Walker

Alli Farkas Artist Adventures

A little chronicle of an artist's meanderings on the road to sustainability in an artistic life (read: make some money from art!)

JamesthomasRacingThoughts (JRTracing)

I live and breathe horse racing!

LESS BLATHER, MORE BITE

WRITING AND COPY-EDITING : MEMORABLE AND INVITING. CONCISE AND CLEAR. KEEP IT SIMPLE.

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Bend Equine Solutions, LLC

Your Passion is Our Purpose

Wayne Hale's Blog

space > exploration > leadership

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

artattackunlimited

Promoting the "green art" movement and self exploration

Everything Eventing

Over-analysis of my life with horses

Trot and Canter Blog.

The love of all things equine.

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

velvetmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

spiritualpearls

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

korizzoinc

Eventing, foxhunting, art, photography and more...

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

Wisdom is Found Through Experience

le Silence de Sion © 2012-2014

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

dare I eat a peach?

a new author's hope to succeed

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

feeling chipper

Just be happy!

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's fine art photography, travel photography, free HDR Tutorial, photography tips, camera reviews and photo editing software.

The Soulsby Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

Shiny art for you

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cozy Cottage Farm

through every window

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

